Call for Nominations

By Anjana Kundu, MD, ABIHM, FAAP
Chair, 2020 SPPM Nominating Committee
SPPM Immediate Past President
Dayton Children’s Hospital
Professor, Department of Pediatrics and Anesthesiology
Wright State University
Dayton, Ohio

Elections for positions on the SPPM Board of Directors will be held prior to the 8th (2021) Annual Meeting in San Diego. The vote will be electronic and take place November-December 2020.  Based on current SPPM bylaws, the Nominating Committee is responsible for bringing a slate of candidates for the position of Vice President, Secretary-Treasurer and all open at-large Board of Director positions for approval by the Board of Directors. 

The SPPM is a member driven organization. Members of the SPPM, serving on committees, are making decisions regarding programs and activities that set the future for the Society. All SPPM members are invited to take part in this volunteer governance process. We encourage you to join and/or take on a task on a standing committee or nominate yourself as a candidate for the SPPM Board of Directors.

The 2020 Nominating Committee is chaired by Anjana Kundu, MD, the SPPM Immediate Past President. The other members include Robert T. Wilder, MD, PhD (Vice-President/President-Elect), Yuan-Chi Lin MD, MPH (Secretary-Treasurer), Benjamin Lee, MD (Chair, SPPM Research Committee) as well as Shobha Malviya, MD,  Lynne Maxwell, MD, and Navil Sethna, MD. The Committee will develop a slate of candidates and once approved by the Board, present it to the membership in November 2020. Only eligible members who are current on their SPPM dues will be eligible to vote.

We are currently seeking nominations for the following positions:

  • Secretary-Treasurer - two-year term
  • Directors-At-Large - four-year term

The Committee urges SPPM members to submit nominations for these open positions. You may nominate yourself or another SPPM member.  Please note that nominees for the position of Secretary-Treasurer must have a demonstrated track record of success leading Society activities. Nominees for at-large Director positions should have an established record of participation and/or leadership  in SPPM committee activities.  By prior Board recommendations and standing practice, the Nominating Committee may advise that the current officers move up in rank, to provide continuity of governance although the only position intended to move up is President Elect. Write-in candidates for the offices of Secretary-Treasurer, Vice President/President Elect, and President of SPPM are welcome. The deadline for nominations is August 31, 2020. 

All nominees must be SPPM members, be available and committed to attend at least 75% of SPPM Board meetings, which take place after the SPPM Annual Meeting in the spring, and the SPA Annual Meeting in the fall. Board members are also expected to participate in at least 75% of the monthly conference calls.

Directors-At-Large serve one four-year term. The Secretary-Treasurer and other officers of the Executive Committee are committed for up to eight years of service as they progress through the positions of Secretary-Treasurer, Vice President, President, and Immediate Past President.

Members of the Board of Directors should reflect upon the commitment in time and energy before considering simultaneous or overlapping appointments on Executive Committees of any other medical society; at best, they should be avoided. 

Please send your nomination, bio legend and photo to Jenny Patterson at [email protected] by August 31, 2020.

Back to top